An electric recollected rememberance inside a dream when a quiet neighborhood slept and dreamers thoughts were swept

Plunged from flaking rusty painted steel bridges rivets
I rested tired hands just but moments before;
into the downtown city lights reflecting,
refracting
off icy needle water currents.

ever burning pine kindling scent of love,
worry stone troubles slipped
and liquid nightmare nestled,
nuzzled from memories,
from the exhausted crook of my mothers arms
she wept.

eyes cast up from indigo depths
as moonlight tango through the surface,
plucked from my own demise
of red demon hoard canyons and angels gilded gate arms

I could not tell.
I do remember the rescue boat buoyantly bouncing upon ripples.
they no longer called it a rescue effort
but a recovery.

 

 


 

Author’s Note:

after writing this piece I thought of “Mad World” by Michael Andrews and Gary Jules for the film Donnie Darko (2001).

“the dreams that I’ve been dying are the best I’ve ever had”.

 

 

 

Leave a comment